In this part of the CEFTA Web Portal you will find the most important customs import/export procedures separately for each CEFTA Economy. Procedures include but are not limited to: 1.The location of customs clearance offices; 2.The working hours in each office; 3.The procedures to follow based on the destination of your goods; 4.The documents to present to customs authorities for obtaining approval for the relevant destination; 5.The officially approved documents given to you by customs authorities in each case; 6.The procedures followed by customs authorities for calculating the customs value of your goods; 7.The definition of rules of origins determining customs preferential or non preferential tariffs; 8.The Free Trade Agreements signed by each CEFTA Economy with the other signatories. In cases where the final destination of goods is one of the CEFTA Economies, please refer to the import procedures section of this Economy on this portal. In cases where goods transit through different economies before arriving to their final destination, please refer to the transit procedures of these economies. If goods exit one of the CEFTA Economies included in this site, please refer to the export procedures for the relevant Economy.


FTA-s description

Free Trade Agreements (FTA-s) ensure the fulfillment of trading needs, especially trading of goods and services missing in the country, they influence the price reduction, increase of economic competitiveness, they create incentives for the national production to be  competitive in the open market through technology improvements, they influence  smuggling decrease and create reciprocal influence among different markets due to the different tariff treatment, as well as export production incentives and increase of reexport.

Implemented FTA-s

Free Trade Agreements signed by the Republic of Albania through years are:

CEFTA-2006 Agreement on Amendment of and Accession to the Central European Free Trade Agreement (CEFTA)

Agreement on Amendment of and Accession to the Central European Free Trade Agreement (CEFTA) is considered as the Free Trade Agreement between the Republic of Albania,  the Republic of Bosnia& Herzegovina ,  the Republic of Croatia, the Republic of Macedonia, the Republic of Moldova, the Republic of Montenegro, the Republic of Serbia and UNMIK/Kosovo. It is signed in Bucharest on 19 December 2006. Its implementation began on 26.07.2007 for Albania, Macedonia, Montenegro, Moldova and UNMIK/ Kosovo, on 22/08/2007 for Croatia, on 24.10.2007 for Serbia and on 22/11/2007 for Bosnia & Herzegovina.

Under this Agreement it is insured that all Cefta Parties place their grounds for facilitation and liberalization of the regional trade, as an indispensable challenge for their overall economic growth with the view to extend their relationship with the European Union, and further integration into the multilateral trade system, as well as for their future membership in the European Union.

Free Trade Agreement with Turkey

The Free Trade Agreement between the Republic of Albania and the Republic of Turkey entered into force on 01/05/2008, after being ratified by Law No. 9733 dated 14/05/2007.

Stabilization and Association Agreement with the European Union

Stabilization and Association Agreement (SAA) between the European Union and its Member States and the Republic of Albania, ratified by Law No. 10 dated 12/02/2009.

Free Trade Agreement between the Republic of Albania and the EFTA states and Agricultural Agreements between the Republic of Albania and Swiss Confederate and Lihtenshtejnit, the Republic of Albania and Norway Kingdom and the Republic of Albania and Republic of Island (Law No 10288 date 17/06/2010), entry into force:

• 1 November 2010 for Albania, Liechtenstein and Switzerland;
• 1 August 2011 for Norway;
• 1 October 2011 for Iceland

The Free Trade Agreement between the Republic of Albania and the EFTA states focuses on the liberalization of trade in goods. Both EFTA and Albania will abolish all customs duties on industrial products, including fish and other marine products. Bilateral arrangements on agricultural products between the individual EFTA States and Albania also form part of the instruments establishing the free-trade area between both sides.


Official Adress:
Ministry of Economy, Trade and Energy
General Directorate of Trade Policy
Tel: + 355 4 2222655